My last post was way too long ago. This site has laid quiescent and dusty. But I feel a need to speak now again.

There is danger among us. The rhetoric coming from the former president is getting harsher, scarier and more apocalyptic. I don’t know what America he sees, but it’s not the America I live in. The America I live in is not a grim place. I know and like my neighbors, I have a wonderful church family and social supports all around me. I love where I live. My community is strong. It is diverse in all ways.

Yes, there are problems. Gun violence is an issue, just as it is everywhere. Occasionally in the regions to the west of us, prejudice rears its ugly head. Christian Nationalism is rife in counties to our west in their local government.

But it’s hardly a steaming mess. It’s more of a swirling polyglot that America has always been.

So don’t believe the “bloodbath“ comments. Don’t buy into the apocalyptic nightmare that the former president likes to paint.Don’t listen to the raving of a old man who comes across like your crazy great uncle at Thanksgiving. Just be who you are. Live with integrity. And when it’s time to vote, dammit, do it.